Produced by Granada TV for the ITV network, the sitcom The Cuckoo Waltz was written by Geoffrey Lancashire, and produced by John G. Temple.

The first three series aired 1975 – 1977, with this final series airing during the summer of 1980.

Local news reporter Chris Hawthorne (David Roper) and his wife Fliss (Diane Keen) live a simple life. Now with two school age kids, it’s sometimes a struggle to make ends meet.

With their previous lodger Gavin Rumsey (Lewis Collins) having moved on, they take on a suave new lodger, Adrian Lockett (Ian Saynor).

VIDEO: The Cuckoo Waltz opening titles and closing credits (series 4). TX DATE: 26th June 1980. COPYRIGHT: ITV plc. VREF: 26313-01.

Video content

[00:00:00] PROGRAMME: the clip features elements from episode 1 of series 4.

Starting with the usual pre-programme ident, for the ITV regional company that produced the programme – in this case Granada.

The main characters appear to be depicted as wealthy 17th-century aristocrats, complete with perukes, in animation form.

The closing credits appear to feature only cast and more senior figures within the production team.


PICTURED: The Cuckoo Waltz opening titles. COPYRIGHT: ITV plc.

Posted by Editor

Leave a Reply